Proop's Pot

Proop's Pot is awarded to the first Lady helm at the National Championships, it was first awarded at the 1964 National Championships. Given the quality of the other trophies donated by the Daily Mirror in 1964 (e.g. The Peter Wilson Trophy), it's hard to imagine the current (2021) plastic trophy is the original one.

Here are some photographs of past winners


Year Held by Note
2021 Melissa Heppell  
2019 Esme Barraclough  
2018 Ellie Clark  
2017 Tara Wilson (AUS) With Martin Egan. Looks like two of the engraved plates with winners prior to 2008 are missing.
2016 Melissa Heppell  
2015 Eleanor Keers  
2014   Jeremy Newman returned it to Ashley Shepherd who took it to Brixham for the Nationals, but it was not awarded (probably because the Youth Challange Trophy was awarded instead)
2013   Not returned, so not awarded
2012   Not returned, so not awarded
2011   Not returned, so not awarded
2010 Millie Newman According to an e-mail from Jeremy Newman
2008 Emma Barry  
2002 Katie MacKenzie  
2001   Not returned, so not awarded to Rachel Wigmore. With Melissa Heppell according to the event report.
1988 Andrea Peters  

Latest forum posts

  • No posts to display.

Forthcoming Events

05 Jun 2022
Waveney and Oulton Broad Yacht Club
Open meeting
12 Jun 2022
Restronguet Sailing Club
Western Area Championship
25 Jun 2022
Hunts Sailing Club
Training or cruising
26 Jun 2022
Hunts Sailing Club
Open Meeting