World Championships 2011 - Albany, Australia

Landcorp 2011 Mirror Worlds - Opening Ceremony

The 14th International Mirror Class World Championships were officially opened last night on yet another beautiful night in Albany.  Event Director, Anthony Galante, on behalf of the Princess Royal Sailing Club and its members recognised the cultural and spiritual links that Noongar people have to the land and sea, and acknowledged the traditional owners of country know today as Albany or Kinjarling, or place of the rain. 

Mineng Elder, Alwyn Coyne, welcomed the competitors in a traditional welcome to country which was followed by traditional dances by the Kinjarling Yoorls, a group of Aboriginal dancers.  Backed by troup leader, Ryan Humphries on didgeridoo, the group of boys and men performed a number of dances including the "Wind Dance." 

Kinjarling Yoorls performing the Wind Dance

The Crowd entertained in perfect surroundings

Commodore Paul Terry and President of the International Mirror Class Association, Celia May, welcomed the sailors and wished them well in the Event. 

The mixing of the waters from the UK, Ireland and South Africa with water from Princess Royal Harbour was performed by Reverend David Hosking.  

The sailors were also anointed by the Reverend prior to the final address by the Member for Albany, Mr Peter Watson MLA who officially opened the Championships. 
The Mirror Class Flag which has travelled from Championship to Championship was raised by Alwyn Coyne and City of Albany Mayor Milton Evans, prior to the buffet dinner in the marquee. 
Aboriginal Elder. Alwyn Coyne and Albany Mayor Milton Evans
A large crowd partied into 2011 witnessing the spectacular fireworks that lit up the Albany sky.  ?

List of Trophy Winners


2011 Prize winners Nation Skipper crew
The UK Trophy - The Mirror World Champion IRL Ross Kearney Max Odell
The Canada Trophy Overall Runner up PHI Ridgely Balladares Rommel Chavez
The 3rd Placed Overall GBR Millie Newman Jessica Rust
Junior Championship - Skipper and crew under 16 years as at 31 December 2010 GBR Matthew Lulham-Robinson Benjamin Lulham-Robinson
The President’s Trophy Top Youth - Youth Helm under 19 as at 31 December 2010 GBR Millie Newman Jessica Rust
The Ladies Trophy - Top Female Helm GBR Millie Newman Jessica Rust
The Masters Trophy - Skipper over 50 as at 31 December 2010 AUS Lachlan Gilbert Finn Gilbert
Family Championship - Parent and Child AUS Lachlan Gilbert Finn Gilbert
The Paul Banner Trophy – lowest score aggregate points of the top 3 sailors in each nation AUS    
The Australian Trophy Aggregate winner of Races 1, 2 & 3      
The Africa Trophy Aggregate winner of Races 4, 5 & 6      
The Europe Cup Aggregate winner of Races 7, 8 & 9      
The Asia Trophy Aggregate winner of Races 10, 11 & 12      
The America Cup Aggregate winner of Races 13, 14 & 15      
Western Australia Trophy International Regatta Winner      
Siver Fleet (No perpetuals trophies)      
1st PHI Don Jhon Cabries Gabriel Fetizanan
2nd IRL Alfie Wisdom Harry Sutcliffe-Woelders
3rd GBR Emma Grayson Rachel Grayson
Best Home boat AUS Lachlan Gilbert Finn Gilbert
African Drumbeat trophy last day of competition (distroyed by AUS customs)      
The Ireland trophy - for the Pre Worlds      


Ross Kearney and Max Odell win Landcorp 2011 Mirror Worlds

Ross from IRL secures his second Mirror Worlds Crown to add to the 2005 title won in Sweden.

With only 5.2 points separating the top 2 boats the final day of the 2011 Mirror Worlds started with an air of expectation with the dinghy park buzzing about the battle that would commence shortly to determine the World Champion.Lively conditions greeted the competitors again with the competitors growing to expect the fresh wind in Albany.  The course was bathed in sunshine.

LandCorp 2011 Mirror Worlds - Day 4

Day 4 of the 2011 LandCorp Mirror Worlds started with a fresh sou-westerly with the fleet bathed in sunshine.  Hard work was the motto of the day for sailors in the 15-18 knot breeze. 

Clean start

A clean start was the order of the day, with most of the fleet going to the left.  By the top mark, the Championship leaders, GBR's Millie Newman and Jessica Rust rounded first followed by the Irishmen Ross Kearney and Max Odell and the Philippino pair Balladares and Chavez.

Landcorp 2011 Mirror Worlds - Day 3

The Philippinos at their favoured position on the boat



When the competitors arrived today for the start of day three, there was little breeze and warm sunshine which bathed the competitors.  By the time the boats took to the water, the breeze had picked up from the north bringing a warm breeze to the middle of Princess Royal Harbour.

Page 1 of 2

Latest forum posts

  • No posts to display.