Kent Travellers Series 1988

Chipstead Open 2nd October 1988 Sponsored by Jeckells

Once again there was an excellent entry of 47 Mirrors for the Chipstead Open. Competitors included former World Champion Dave Sherwin and National and European Champion Ian Walker, plus a number of others who had travelled considerable distances to attend. Unfortunately the high pressure brought weather more suitable for sunbathing than sailing, but Race Officer John Shapley set the  best possible courses in the circumstances.

Maidstone SC Mirror Open 1988

A sunny but still day welcomed the Kent Travellers Mirror fleet to Maidstone on 18th September. Nonetheless, as in previous years, such uninviting sailing conditions did not prevent the day’s racing being anything but competitive, not only at the front but also among the fleet in general.

Ian Walker had much his own way in the first race, leading Lee Goodey and Guy Wilkins to the finish. The second race started, only to be abandoned, but the re-run saw Ian and Lee involved in a tacking duel right to the line, but this time with Lee gaining the upper hand. Again Guy finished third.

Latest forum posts

  • No posts to display.