MCA website logo 2017 4

A silver cup with two handles and black plastic base

The Gulf Cup was presented in 1974 and is awarded to the Highest Placed Welsh Boat at the National Championships.

Here are some photographs of past winners


Year Held by Note
2022 David & Hattie Edwards  
2017  Not awarded at the prize giving Should have been awarded to Thomas & Daniel Crook, but was not. John Thornley has it, and will return it in time for the 2018 Nationals prizegiving.
2016 Not awarded at the prize giving Not returned by John Thornley. After the prizegiving John was asked to send the trophy directly to  Thomas & Daniel Crook from Trearrddur Bay SC. John Crook reports it never arrived.
2015 Megan Thornley & Thomas Hayley The river Dee was adjudged to be in Wales, just.
2014   Not awarded
2012   Returned, photographed & not on 2012 list, so not awarded
2011 Katie Davies & Gemma Keers According to the 2011 list
2009 Harry Yeoward &  Nick Elsdon  
2008 Harry Yeoward &  Nick Elsdon  
2007 Roseanna Yeoward & Harry Yeoward  
2006 Roseanna Yeoward & Harry Yeoward  
2004 Ben Crompton & Sam Robinson  
2003 Ben Crompton & Robbie Cowan  
2002   Not awarded.
2001   Not awarded. Location unknown according to the event report.
1999 D Freemantle & M Kirtland  
1998 R Forbes & E Bloor  
1997 R Forbes & E Bloor  
1996 R Forbes & E Bloor  
1995 Tim Ware & C Hughes  
1994 Ben Dutton  
1993 Ben Dutton  
1992 Tim Ware  
1991 Mike Bloor  
1990 D J Edwards  
1989 D J Edwards  
1988 M Bennett & Tim Ware  
1987 D J Edwards  
1986 J C Evans  
1985 Dave Turtle  
1984 J Evans  
1983 Dave J Turtle  
1982 V & R Evans  
1981 David Williams  
1980 R & J Evans  
1978 "Ditto"  
1977 G.R. Ellis  
1976 G.R. Ellis  
1975 G.R. Ellis  
1974 G.R. Ellis  
Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.