MCA website logo 2017 4

A silver cup with handles which look a bit like angel wings which extend above the rim

In 1988 (and probably before that), The National Westminster Trophy was awarded to the National Open winner, that is, first overall at the Nationals, irrespective of country (at this point in time, only UK boats could win the UK Nationals). More recently it is awarded to the winners of race 6 at the National Championships.

The photo above, from the 1988 Nationals, is, we think, of the National Westminster Trophy. According to the 1988 Trophy list, Danny O’Grady & Ciaran Scott won the National Westminster and Hathi Plate, and this is not the plate. We've also got good photos, mainly from 2012, of the MCA Nationals trophies, apart from National Westminster & Lucas Trophy and this trophy is not among those. So this trophy is probably one of the missing two. Matt Grayson remembers seeing it at some point, so that means it had to be in circulation while he was active in the class, and the National Westminster was awarded at the 2011 Nationals.

It looks similar to one of the National Inland Championship trophies, the Peter Drysdale Trophy, but the inscription is clearly different. I can't read all the inscription, but the start is clear - 'MIRROR CLASS ASSOCIATION' and then a fairly short word ending in 'T' followed by 'TROPHY', so could be 'NATWEST TROPHY'

A young girl collecting a silver cup which only the top is visible

This photo is from the 2003 Nationals. The National Westminster was one of three trophies won by Max Capener & Katy Jones, Max has the other two, the way the handles on the National Westminster stick up above the rim is quite distinctive.

This trophy is missing at the moment.

  1. It was awarded to Ed & Beth Grey in 2011 according to the 2011 list.
  2. Colette Grey tells me all the trophies they had were returned.
  3. It was not among the trophies photographed prior to the Prizegiving at the 2012 National Championship at Itchenor.
  4. We have a list of trophy winners from 2012 which states that it was awarded to Milly & Nick Pugh. However, we know it was not photographed prior to the prizegiving. We have a photograph from the prizegiving of Nick Pugh with the Fox & Hounds Marine Trophy (which is not on the list of awarded trophies), so it seems the list is not 100% accurate. Maybe the Fox & Hounds Marine Trophy (an Inlands trophy) was awarded instead of the National Westminster Trophy.
  5. The Pughs have checked and do not have this trophy.

Here are some photographs of past winners


Year Held by Note
2021-2013   Not returned, so not awarded
2012   Not among the trophies photographed prior to the prizegiving, so maybe not returned (see above)
2011 Ed & Beth Grey According to the 2011 list
2002 Dan & James Ellis  
2001 Alex Kaiser & Jack Vaughan (IRL) Awarded for 2nd Day 3
1988 Danny O’Grady & Ciaran Scott (IRL) National Open Winner
Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.