MCA website logo 2017 4

Mirror Inland Championship at Bassenthwaite SC - photos by William Carruthers

There was an entry of twenty boats of which seventeen took to the water. The less than expected numbers are likely to have been due to the forecast of extremely light winds over the two days. Five crews had travelled from other northern clubs.

Yes, there was a short postponement prior to the first race but the breeze built allowing three good races to be completed by late afternoon. Taking account of the forecast for the following day the race officer decided to extend the first day’s racing by adding a fourth start. This made sense but a number of helms felt their young crews had endured enough exercise for one day and didn’t take the start.

 In Race 1 a number of crews were eager to get started and ended up OCS and only one boat returning. The win went to Luke & Tristan Shaw for Budworth. The next race was taken by Phil & Oliver Smith from Bass. Following a break to enjoy the galley’s offerings and the sunshine Races three & four were held. Both were won by Andy & Lily Smith (bass) giving them an overnight lead of 1 point over the Shaws.

Sunday also started with a postponement as the wind freshened then disappeared several times. But it eventually settled and racing resumed. It was Phil & Oliver Smith who took the win with Phil’s wife and the Club’s Commodore snatching second on the line from the Shaws.

It was all to play for in the final race despite Andy & Lily Smith having a poor result in the previous one. Phil & Oliver Smith took the lead at the windward mark and held it to the finish securing them the Inland Championship Trophy. This was fitting as Phil was Mirror National Champion in 1999 with his brother Tim, who was also amongst the entrants on this occasion.

Luke & Tristan Shaw were deserved runners up in the Championship and, as such, Luke thanked the Organising Club for their efforts at the end of the prizegiving. Naomi Smith took the awards for the first Single Hander and the first Female Helm, Ed Coady & Sebastian Shilling from Derwent Reservoir SC were the first Junior crew and Charlie Exley & Josh Hunter from Bass were first in the Youth category.

A gentleman and young crew holding their trophies

 A gentleman and young crew holding their trophies

A gentleman and young crew holding their trophies

A lady holding her trophy

Two teenagers holding their trophies

A teenager holding his trophies

A young sailor holding his trophy


Sailed: 6, Discards: 1, To count: 5, Rating system: PY, Entries: 17, Scoring system: Appendix A
RankBoatClubHelm & CrewD/SCategoryR1R2R3R4R5R6TotalNett
1st 70142 Bassenthwaite SC Phil & Oliver Smith D M 3.0 1.0 4.0 DNC 1.0 1.0 28.0 10.0
2nd 70650 - Marshmallow II Budworth SC Luke & Tristan Shaw D M 1.0 3.0 2.0 2.0 3.0 2.0 13.0 10.0
3rd 70748 Bassenthwaite SC Andy & Lily Smith D M OCS 2.0 1.0 1.0 4.0 6.0 32.0 14.0
4th 69963 Bassenthwaite SC Naomi Smith S F 4.0 7.0 6.0 DNC 2.0 5.0 42.0 24.0
5th 70805 - MCA demo boat DRSC Edward Coady & Sebastian Shilling D M Junior 8.0 4.0 7.0 3.0 7.0 3.0 32.0 24.0
6th 70921 - Missee Lee Ripon SC Fiona & George Spence D F 6.0 5.0 5.0 4.0 10.0 7.0 37.0 27.0
7th 70567 - Deal With It Bassenthwaite SC Paul Allen & Mr Reuben and Lady Grace D M 2.0 6.0 DNC DNC 6.0 4.0 54.0 36.0
8th 69960 - Eclipse Bassenthwaite SC Mik Chappell S M 9.0 10.0 8.0 6.0 9.0 10.0 52.0 42.0
9th 70501 - . . . .and Perky ? Bassenthwaite SC Robin Dawson & Grace Stockdale D M 7.0 8.0 11.0 DNC 8.0 9.0 61.0 43.0
10th 70548 - Mogwal Bassenthwaite SC Charlie Exley & Josh Hunter D M Youth 12.0 11.0 10.0 5.0 11.0 11.0 60.0 48.0
11th 70791 - Lady Dashalot Bassenthwaite SC Tim Smith & Phoebe Smith D M 5.0 DNC DNC DNC 5.0 8.0 72.0 54.0
12th 69164 - Be Realistic Bassenthwaite SC Katia Smith & Hannah Preston D F Junior 11.0 13.0 12.0 7.0 14.0 13.0 70.0 56.0
13th 70675 - All The Gear, No Idea Bassenthwaite SC Alfie & Alastair Duncan D M 13.0 15.0 13.0 8.0 13.0 14.0 76.0 61.0
14th 70201 - What A Girl Wants Bassenthwaite SC Jonathan & Gracie Bullen D M OCS 12.0 9.0 DNC 12.0 12.0 81.0 63.0
15th 70466 - Wen Bassenthwaite SC Nick & Daisy Smith D M 10.0 9.0 DNC DNC DNC DNC 91.0 73.0
16th 70567 Bassenthwaite SC Paul Allen D M DNC DNC 3.0 DNC DNC DNC 93.0 75.0
17th 56398 Bassenthwaite SC Matthew Somerville & Henry Bullen D M Junior 14.0 14.0 DNC DNC 15.0 DNC 97.0 79.0

The list of Inland/Y&J/Singlehanded trophies presented were

Anchor Trophy 1st Youth - Josh Hunter from Bassenthwaite.
Apple trophy Leading Committee Member Helm - not returned
Commodores Bowl Leading helm & crew under 19, other than the overall winner - not returned
Sailing The Mirror Trophy Leading Helm over 39 years - not returned?
G. & C. Sheward Trophy Inlands First lady helm - not returned
Derwent Cup Race 1 winner - Luke & Tristan Shaw from Budworth
Techno Sunley Trophy Race 2 winner - not returned
Fox and Hounds Trophy Race 3 winner - Andy & Lily Smith from Bassenthwaite
Peter Drysdale Trophy Race 4 winner - with Martin Egan awaiting repair of broken handle
Directors Trophy Race 5 winner - not returned
George Over limited Trophy National Inland Champion - Phil & Oliver Smith
Wimpey Bar Youth Trophy National Youth Champion - not returned to the event. Returned at the Nationals, now with Martin Egan
Peter Taylor Junior Trophy National Junior Champion - Edward Coady DRSC
11111 Trophy Last boat to complete every race - not returned
RYA Eric Twiname Trophy Alfie Duncan Bassenthwaite for endeavour 
National Single-handed Trophy National Singlehanded Champion - not returned
Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.