MCA website logo 2017 4

Once again there was an excellent entry of 47 Mirrors for the Chipstead Open. Competitors included former World Champion Dave Sherwin and National and European Champion Ian Walker, plus a number of others who had travelled considerable distances to attend. Unfortunately the high pressure brought weather more suitable for sunbathing than sailing, but Race Officer John Shapley set the  best possible courses in the circumstances.

Early leader in the first race was Terry Hunt and Debora Brown (M 66503) from Bough Beech, but as the wind picked up he was overhauled by Ian Walker and Fergus Ross (M 65908 - Turn Of The Tide) from Chipstead, Colin and Elaine Goodman (M 68262 - Aeolus) from Bexhill and Lee Goody and Chris Greenstreet (e ?) (M 68550 - Odin) from Broadsairs. The race finished in that order, with Guy Wilkins and Simon Gillow (M 67008 - Salami Tactics) and Dave Sherwin, with crew John (M 64203 - Freckles)  doing well to finish 4th and 5th after losing out at the start.

The 2nd race was sailed over a full course and this developed into a close race between the leader, Ian Walker, and Dave Sherwin, who could not quite match the local sailor's knowledge of the waier in these condilions. There was no change at the finish, with the Goodman youngsters and Guy Wilkins finishing 3rd and 4th respectively.

The final race started in light conditions, with the wind fading, but Lee Goodey and Guy Wilkins quickly opened up a gap over Paul Irons and Roger Douglas (M 68302 - Penguin Pie) from Spinnaker and Alec Ross and Tom Hebbert (M 68686) from Chipstead. Having been boxed in at the start Ian Walker managed to move up to third position on the downwind leg and then take 2nd plrce from Guy Wilkins on the final beat, leaving Lee Goodey the clear winner on the line.

The overall Open winners were Ian Walker and Fergus Ross, who also retained the Kent Travellers Trophy sailed over 12 events during the year. The Kent Travellers Team Trophy was won for the first time by Chipstead S.C.

Club Open Results

  1. Ian Walker & Fergus Ross (M 65908) Chipstead SC.
  2. Lee Goodey, Chris Greenstreet (M 63550) Broadstairs SC.
  3. Colin and Elaine Goodman (M 68252) Bexhill SC.
  4. Guy Wilkins, Simon Gillow (M 67008) Blue Circle SC.
  5. Dave Sherwin and John (M 64203) Leigh on Sea SC.
1st Lady Elizabeth Kent and Alison Marsh, Chipstead SC.
1st Over 40 Nigel Carling, Maidstone SC.
1st Parent and Offsping Robert Marsh, Nicola Marsh, Chipstead SC.
Tubs' Prize-Heaviest Combined Weight Richard and Matthew Halsey

 The Chipstead Bell Trophy was presented to the winners by Steven Jeckell, whose Company sponsored the event for the second successive year. Thanks were due to Bromley Boats who also gave some sponsorship, the hardworking team from Chipstead who organised the event, Race Officer John Shapley and Peter Wilkins and Paul Irons who run the Kent Travellers Series so successfully.

Well done Chipstead for probably the largest Club Mirror Open entry of the year.

1988 Kent Travellers Trophy

  1. Ian Walker and Fergus Ross, Chipstead SC.
  2. Lee Goodey and Chris Greenstreete, Broadstairs SC.
  3. Colin and Elaine Goodman, Bexhill SC.
  4. Guy and Teresa Wilkins, Blue Circle SC.
  5. Nigel and Russell Masding, Chipstead SC.
  6. Terry Hunt and Debora Brown, Bough Beech SC.

Team Prize — Chipstead SC.

Editors Note: This article is from Reflections No. 79 Winter 1988, page 8. It has been captured by OCR, so typos & errors are possible.

Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.