MCA website logo 2017 4

As usual Nantwich proved a popular venue for Northern and Midland sailors, on Sunday 25th September. The flukey westerly wind which varied between force one and four, tested competitors skill and patience.
In Race One Luke Tumbull got off to an excellent start, followed by Roy Platford. This pair pulled away from the fleet and finished in this order. A long tussle for third place ensued between John Lewis and Cole Briscoe, with Lewis finally crossing the line in front.

Race Two saw Stuart Sutcliffe take an early lead, but was overtaken by Dave Warren at the end of lap two. Conditions were now very tricky and massive gains and losses were being made further down the fleet. However, Warren now found his form, to fend off strong challenges by Turnbull to finish first. Platford went through to third, while a large proportion of the fleet remained becalmed.
At the start of Race Three there were still three possible winners. Richard Warren got away from a crowded line to lead round the first lap and then failback. By the end of lap two, Turnbull had found the front and pulled away into a massive lead. Dave Warren was second, while Cole Briscoe went from the tail end of the fleet through to third.

Overall Results were:
1st Luke Turnbull & Gillian Toman (Wigan SC)
2nd Dave & Carol Warren (Burton SC)
3rd Roy Platford & John Deane (Wigan SC)
4th Cole & Darren Briscoe (Shustoke SC)
5th John Lewis & Celie Brookes (Winsford SC)

Editors Note: This article is from Reflections No. 79 Winter 1988, page 12. It has been captured by OCR, so typos & errors are possible. I've assumed it was part of the North West Counties travellers.

Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.