MCA website logo 2017 4

all photos ©William Carruthers

What a restart to Open Meeting sailing after eighteen months of twiddling our thumbs! A weekend of racing for Mirrors with eighteen entries. The Lake looked positively crowded!

Although the weather had been wet and wild prior to the weekend, the first of the race days was reasonably sunny and warm. The only trouble was the wind – or lack of it! There was around an hour’s postponement between the race briefing and the start of the first of Saturday’s races.

This started in a light westerly. Bass’ sailing secretary, Phil Smith with young son Oliver crewing led from the start followed by Graham & Sebastian Vials (Derwent Reservoir SC) and Andy & Lily Smith (Bass). The Vials took the lead but then headed for the wrong off wind mark. Andy Smith followed their path leaving Phil & Oliver Smith to take a comfortable win.

Race 2 had more fluky winds which had a significant effect on the start. In one of the oldest boats in the fleet Bass’ Rear Commodore Naomi Smith with little daughter Lucy aboard got a flyer off the line and they extended their lead on successive legs to take an impressive win. Northampton SC’s Rob Cook with young Elizabeth as crew finished second following up a similar result in the first race to share the overnight lead.

Sunday was, as forecast, considerably windier and also wetter and chillier. In Race 3 it was a southerly although the surrounding fells provided some protection from the gusts. Andy & Lily Smith took the win ahead of the Cooks and the Vials. Race 4 was held back to back prior to a break and, with the Cooks being OCS the win went to the Vials from the Smiths. Jonathan Bullen (Bass) with young Gracie as crew finished third ahead of Beaver SC’s Matt Grayson sailing single handed. Katia Smith / Hannah Preston (Bass) capsized their Mirror and, with considerable effort, just managed to keep it afloat and return to the Club’s jetty.

By this point the wind strength had increased by at least one further notch and swung south east so that the wind and the swell were coming directly down the lake. Many competitors decided there and then that they wouldn’t launch again for the final race but the trophies were still up for grabs so five mirror crews ventured out, most having deposited their young crews ashore.

Vial, Cook and Smith were all in contention dependent on their final race result. Graham Vials decided against starting and, when Andy Smith pulled out a significant lead over Rob Cook the Mirror Fleet win was theirs.

Matthew Somerville / Poppy Christie took the award for the first Under 17 under seventeen helm and crew.

A dad and his daughter holding their prizes

1st   70573 Bass Andy Smith Lily Smith 3.0 6.0 1.0 2.0 1.0 13.0 7.0
2nd   70922 Northampton SC Rob Cook Elizabeth Cook 2.0 2.0 2.0 DNF 2.0 27.0 8.0
3rd   70567 Bass SC Jonathan Bullen Gracie Bullen 7.0 4.0 4.0 3.0 3.0 21.0 14.0
4th   70821 DRSC Graham Vials Sebastian Vials 8.0 3.0 3.0 1.0 DNC 34.0 15.0
5th   70756 Beaver SC Matt Grayson   4.0 8.0 5.0 4.0 DNC 40.0 21.0
6th U17 7031 BSC Matthew Somerville Cameron Somerville/Poppy Christie 12.0 13.0 7.0 5.0 4.0 41.0 28.0
7th   69633 Bass SC Naomi Smith Lucy Smith 5.0 1.0 DNC DNC DNC 63.0 44.0
8th   70142 Bassenthwaite Phil Smith Oliver Smith 1.0 7.0 DNC DNC DNC 65.0 46.0
9th U17 69164 Bassenthwaite SC Katia Smiith Hannah Preston 16.0 16.0 9.0 DNF 5.0 65.0 46.0
10th U17 56398 Bass SC Jack Exley Henry Bullen 15.0 17.0 8.0 6.0 DNC 65.0 46.0
11th   69820 Bass SC Alex Leonard Saskia Leonard 9.0 5.0 DNC DNC DNC 71.0 52.0
12th   70548 Bassenthwaite Sailing Club Stephen Kirkpatrick Georgina Kirkpatrick 6.0 10.0 DNF DNC DNC 73.0 54.0
13th   70961 Bass SC Charlie Rowell Stacey Rowell 10.0 9.0 DNC DNC DNC 76.0 57.0
14th   70442 Beaver S C Bob Towler Josh Scott 11.0 11.0 DNC DNC DNC 79.0 60.0
15th   970675 Bass Alastair duncan Alfie duncan DNC DNC 6.0 DNC DNC 82.0 63.0
16th   7241 Bass sc Paul Clark   14.0 12.0 DNC DNC DNC 83.0 64.0
17th   70675 Bass Alfie duncan Alastair duncan 13.0 14.0 DNC DNC DNC 84.0 65.0
18th U17 70352 Bassenthwaite SC Grace StockdaleJ James Reekie 17.0 15.0 DNC DNC DNC 89.0 70.0



Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.