MCA website logo 2017 4

A blue and white GRP foam sandwich Mirror dinghy rigged with sails hoisted on a stand at the 2024 RYA Dinghy & Watersports Show

This year the Mirror Class Association had stand L10 at the dinghy show and, thanks to TridentUK & Ginger Boats, were able to exhibit the new TridentUK epoxy/foam sandwich Mirror. As ever the stand was reasonably busy with many old friends of the class, and some new faces, stopping by for a chat. Thanks to Steve Bland from Poole YC & Chris Balding from Island Barn SC for helping with the stand on Saturday & Sunday respectively.

TridentUK have subcontracted their Mirror moulding to Ginger Boats who also produced a new set of hull & deck moulds in 2023. The new hull mould is pretty well identical to the previous one, but now includes the whole of the skeg. The deck mould is quite different with dished aft & foredeck, a raised platform for the mast step, the deck moulding now runs up to gunwale level and rolls over the hull mould to give a smooth interior and much stronger contruction compared to the  separate gunwale moulding used on the pre 2023 boats. There are no cuddies, or shroud blocks, so just three main components - hull, deck & thwart/daggerboard case top. While similar to a Winder, it looks a bit different - the edges of the side decks are not bevelled, so a little more like the traditional Mirror interior. These boats are built in epoxy resin and are down to the minimum permitted hull weight of 45.5Kg.

The show boat was blue with light grey decks (other colours are, of course, available), fitted with a TridentUK 2 piece Bermuda mast, boom & TridentUK race sails (thanks Jethro). It was rigged with the kicking strap led back to the thwart on both side. Other rigging options are available. The non-slip material on the gunwales and thwart is SeaDek. New boats can be ordered via the TridentUK website.

Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.